Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Primary Structures Stress or Cabin Interiors Stress or Nacelle Stress?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

personally I'd put nacelle stress with "dumbed down" interiors stress, and systems stress ...

but then I'm an elitist primary structure analyst ...

another day in paradise, or is paradise one day closer ?

The nacelle is the only part of the aircraft where high temp, dynamics, fatigue, sonic fatigue, hitech composites, systems, FBO, TR and everything else is acting in a relatively tiny envelope.

I think it is much more complex than primary structure, but then that is just my personal opinion.

rb I'd love to discuss something with you, do you think you can email me at stressebookllc at gmail?

Stressing Stresslessly!

I would not put most commercial aircraft nacelle structures in the same category as wing structures, the only exception being engine pylons. Nacelle thrust reverser components might see some significant loading for short periods during landing, but failure of a thrust reverser structure would not be catastrophic like in-flight failure of a wing spar would. As for the rest of the nacelle components, it's not uncommon for commercial aircraft to lose large sections of engine cowl and continue to fly safely.

goodbye_engine_cowl_coio85.png

I would disagree with rb1957's comment about "dumbed down" stress environment of some mechanical systems like landing gear or primary flight control actuators. These systems have some very highly stressed, fracture critical components.