Problem with cutting steel bars

Status
Not open for further replies.

EngineerNewbie

Materials
Mar 1, 2013
GB
Hello all.

I have a problem where I work and want your help.
At forging, when the steel bar is cut, sometimes the bar sticks to the "cutting blade". Then, it takes different shape than the normal one and a defect appears. The process is mechanical, no cutting disc is used.
It's like the bar acts like a dough.
What can we do so this problem doesn't occur?

Thanks in advance!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

If the bar is sticking, then it's possibly too hot, and some form of cooling is needed. Usually, there's a cutting oil that is used to cool the cutting tool and cut.

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

Need help writing a question or understanding a reply? forum1529

Of course I can. I can do anything. I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert!

Temperature and lubrication are the two issues.
The sticking ones are either too hot, or not enough lube, or both.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
Plymouth Tube

racookpe1978, it's not cast metal, it's a solid metal, that's heated by induction and then cut.
I thought about lubrification but need to investigate the problem more.
Thanks guys.

My opinion - and without looking at a video in real time of the sawing operaton and metal temperature of the steel being cut I'm making sort of a guess here - is that the "soft, doughy" steel is getting torn by the saw teeth - not "cut" cleanly by the saw teeth. Then, as the blade pulls the torn metal past the cutting area, it tears and pulls more soft metal from the sides and back of the cut down into the cut and in between the teeth. Eventually, the excess friction between blades and material siezes the blade.

The "goo" squeezes the blade as it seeps back into the cut (think Panama canal's Gailliard Cut: As you remove material more flows back into the groove and gums up the teeth).