Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Problems creating new view

Status
Not open for further replies.

AAREng

Mechanical
Dec 13, 2011
US
I would like to thank everyone that has responded in advance to some of my threads! I am new to pro/e and I will be starting a job soon that will require knowledge of the software. I wanted to go in as prepared as I could! In any case, my problem is that I am trying to create an isometric view so I can access it when I open a new file. I will describe what I've done so far step by step.

1. Set working directory
2. (click) Reorient
3. Change from Orient by reference to Dynamic orient
4. set V = -45 and H= 35.2644
5. Name Isometric
6. Save
7. Set
8. Save file

after I do this and I try to open a new file the Isometric view that I made is not available. I don't understand why? If I can get some suggestions that would be great. Thank you for all your help!!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It is possible to set this as the default orientation but you cannot make multiple default views which are available upon startup. If all you require is to have your "Isometric" view as the default orientation (in which when you select standard or default orientation it will go to that view) then that can be done using the following config.pro options:
orientation --> user_defined
x_angle --> 35.2644
y_angle --> -45
or whatever angles you prefer. But again this is only for the default view orientation. Although as I am writing this I realized you should be able to do that as well on the default part template. First create the template the way you want it then save in a "templates" folder which you create (mine is in my startup directory) and point to it using config.pro option template_solidpart.