Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Professional and Academic Advise Request

Status
Not open for further replies.

crcivil

Civil/Environmental
Jan 22, 2012
MX
I graduated from UBC a while ago where a got my Master's degree in Construction Engineering. For the past five years I´ve been working as a sub-contractor in México doing geotechnical construction, mainly shotcrete work and slope stabilization. Some of my clients come to me and ask for the design and construction solution of a given situation, in which case I have to come out many times with an empirical answer to their needs based on my experience and in what I have learned so far from books and other sources of information on the topic at hand.

There are not too many people specializing in slope stabilization in the city where I live with my wife and our three kids, and the few around here offer design and construction services as well to their clients, so they basically look at me as a competitor, and would not be willing to offer me design services, lets say for a required Ground Anchored Wall as an example.

I like this engineering field and enjoy doing my job, but I feel I'm in disadvantage with these people, therefore I srtongly feel the need of getting more knowledgeable in the field of Geotechnical Engineering, specially in topics on in-situ ground reinforcement and improvement, that I enjoy the most. Would you kindly give some advises? Is there any graduate programs on line that you can recommend?

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you