Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Programmed relay on PCI card in computer, need to bypass the bus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

co88dy

Computer
Jun 11, 2012
DE
Sorry, I am not an electronic engineer but I do use eng-tips sister site tek-tips for telecommunications, but it looks like I need some eee assistance.

I attached a diagram showing what I have. To put it in words, I have a computer with a PCI card, that has a DB 15 port, that can be programmed as a relay. The relay is normally open and when a condition happens in the software it closes to power a light. All of this part works, except for one issue. The bus on the PCI card only supports 150mA and the light requires 400ma to power on.

I wanted to see if there is any premade device, or an idea on how to make something that will still use the computer relay for the software condition, but will pass the power down a separate circuit, bypassing the PCI card. I was think a device that detects continuity from the pci card, and opens or closes another relay when continuity is lost or detected.

Sorry for my lack on knowledge, and information would be appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

USB supports 0.5A, but I don't understand the bit about the PCI card?

How is its bus limiting the current?

Why not run power outside of the PCI board?

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss