Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Project Engineering Courses 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

pclegg25

Automotive
Aug 27, 2002
GB
I am a Machine Design Engineer moving into a Project Engineering role. Although I have a the basic principal of managing a project I would be keen to better myself. I come from West Yorkshire, United Kingdom and would be most grateful if anybody could tell me if there are any relevant courses out there?

Regards,
Paul

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I followed the same track some years ago with good results. I didn't take a course, but I researched the subject with some current books. Searching for "Project Engineering" in Amazon dot com/UK will lead you to some books, even at used prices.

A powerful tool is MS Project, which facilitates the scheduling and updating function. My projects are scheduled with % complete, weeks, start date, finish date, resources, comments, etc. It is something I review and update almost daily. And you can forward it to your boss and contacts.

Tracking expenditures is interesting. You should have an S curve of cumm. money spent vs. time. It ramps up in the beginning, follows a more or less constant rate, then it tapers off at the end.

pclegg25,