Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Project Mgt Practice in US and Canada 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Akhibi

Mechanical
Sep 19, 2003
GB
I am a Nigerian chartered Mechanical Engineer, and a certified PMP. I have seven years experience in the Nigerian Oil and Gas industry.

I am currently considering moving to the US or Canada as an experienced professional.

Are there any specific certifications or qualifications required for professional practice in the US or Canada that I would need to work as a Project management practitioner?

Greg Akhibi
Clearwaters Consulting Ltd

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

akhibi,

Good Luck with your transition plans. I cannot speak for Canada, however in the US you may want to check the following:

Of course visa and immigration issues

Education and training recognition (may foreign trained professionals have difficulty getting their homeland education and training institutions recognized)

Networking within your industry (use your contacts within your target location to help you with company and industry practices)

Again, good luck!

jjf1

Akhibi
In Canada getting registered as a professional engineer with overseas qualifications and experience is a pain. Most of the provincial associations will require you to basically pay to rewrite all your exams as they frown on anything non Canadian.
The whole thing reeks as a money making scam as they do very little once you are registered.