Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Proper description of bridge

Status
Not open for further replies.

geoman77

Geotechnical
Feb 11, 2011
US
I am modeling the performance of the foundations of a bridge that suffered damage due to foundation movement during an earthquake and need some assistance in properly describing the bridge structural systems. My background is geotechnical and I am primarily concerned with modeling the foundation behavior, but I want to make sure I describe the rest of the bridge accurately. The following are my interpretations from the plans:

-The bridge has 10 spans, each 20m in length.

-Each span consists of 7 precast-prestressed I-shaped girders which are supported on laminated neoprene bearings on a bent cap; the bent cap is supported on four columns.
-There is a 4cm gap between the ends of the girders in the longitudinal direction at every pier.

-Precast slab panels about 1m-x-1m span between the girders over the entire 20m span

-A cast-in-place deck slab on top of the precast slab panels is continuous over the first three spans, then the center four spans, and finally over the remaining three spans. In other words, the deck slab was constructed in three pours.

-There are vertical diaphragms between the ends of the girders in the transverse direction. At each pier, there are two of these transverse diaphragms, one connecting the ends of each of the two sets of girders that meet at that pier. The diaphragms are prestressed in the transverse direction across the entire 11m width of the bridge; the prestressing cables pass through ducts cast into the ends of the girders.