Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Proper method of drafting structural frames of welded tubes

Status
Not open for further replies.

eatfood

Industrial
Sep 7, 2012
CA
I'm used to drafting precision mechanical components with well defined tolerances, feature positions and use of locating pins for assembly etc. Basically CNC machined components that fit together nicely and where each individual part can be separated out nicely and can be drafted easily.

But for jobs involving metal structural frames created from welded metal tube extrusions, whats the proper way of drafting these parts? I'm new to drafting welded stuff.

Say I want to draft the assembly of a metal frame comprised of welded metal tube extrusions. What is the proper way to draft them, especially if the structure is large and the tubes look like lines at that scane?

When I'm doing drafts of each separate part component. Should I have draft orthographic views for each individual tube, and then another draft orthographc view for when those individual tubes are welded together (into a welded single part)? Or just one for the final welded part showing where the weldments should go? Then comes the assembly. This can get messy when you have a large frame structure.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I wouldn't worry too much about detailing individual parts, and if you use the Frames utility you will not be able to anyway.

Basically there are 2 ways to create your framework - either using individually modelled parts that can have their own detail drawings, or using Frames and just drawing the overall assembly.
Neither is the right or wrong way - it just depends on how your company works.