Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Prying in AISC 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wanna_be_SE

Structural
Oct 27, 2022
US
In the prying equations the steel manual uses Fu, instead of Fy. On p. 9-10 there is a brief discussion that the design basis was changed to Fu "which provides better correlation with available test data".

I've found some other guidance online for some explanation in what is actually happening in prying, and one source said we're basically ensuring a "plastic hinge" doesn't develop in the plate, otherwise prying forces need be considered in the bolt. While I'm still relatively new in my career, I thought the plastic hinge was Zx*Fy, not Zx*Fu? It seems the prying equations are suggesting no additional tension forces due to prying is present in the bolt, until the plate has reached it's absolute max strength, but I would think prying forces would begin to develop in the bolt after Zx*Fy, because isn't that the plastic hinge? So beyond that no elastic deformation will happen. So as the plate begins to permanently deform in bending, wouldn't that initiate additional prying forces in the bolt?

Maybe the testing and theory doesn't exactly align, and so that's why AISC decided to change to Fu, but did the older versions of steel manual use Fy for prying equations?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Yes, I think you're essentially correct. For a long time, the theory was based on Fy of the plate. It was a good theory. Keep in mind, of course, that there are LOTS of approximations / assumptions that went along with that:

Fy vs actual yield
degree of fixity of plate at bolt locations
ignoring width of the nuts that clamp the plate.