Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

psv's, drains, vents-common outlet piping system

Status
Not open for further replies.

pmover

Mechanical
Sep 7, 2001
US
i recently inspected a new bulk aircraft fueling system (jp8 if the fluid) in which all the thermal & pressure relief valves, vents, and drains are piped into a common discharge piping system. the system contains pumps for transferring jp8 from one location to another along with the associated piping, valves, flow control devices, etc. there are valves (i.e. vents and drains) for the operator to open/close depending upon system operation, which can be potentially hazardous (human factor).
since my background is oil and gas, i do not ever recall encountering such a system in which vents, drains, and psv's are tied into a common piping system. eventually, these relieving devices may be piped to the flare header, but at least they are seperated by type (i.e. drains into one piped system, vents in another piped system, etc.).
i plan on investigating the design specifications for this project, but i welcome feedback from competent individuals regarding such systems. comments by co-workers indicate that this system design "is normal" for this type project, which causes me significant brainwave activity.
i know that i should have had the specs with me during the inspection, but i was given a < 12 hour notice of the project and had little time for preparation. this matter is a design issue and not an operational issue.
feedback and questions are welcome!
-pmover

Replies continue below

Recommended for you