Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

PT Slab Discovered During Construction!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ampersand

Structural
Sep 2, 2005
US
Hello All,

I am a licensed CA structural engineer, and I recently designed a rear addition to a residence in the SF Bay Area. The owner did not provide a geotechnical report. I visited the site, took measurements and photos, and I designed the foundation as a conventional foundation system. The contractor began construction, which included cutting some holes out of the back end of the foundation/slab-on-grade, and unfortunately the GC discovered that it was a PT slab system- and he had cut some of the PT strands.

I am trying to help the owner locate a specialty engineer who can design a fix for the PT slab (I cannot design PT). I will offer my client all the coordination help they need. But I am concerned: Did I act prudently in designing the addition? They will probably have to have another company design a slab fix, and then also re-design the entire addition foundation as some kind of PT system.

It is of course highly uncommon for a residence to have a PT slab system. I did not see (nor did the GC) and "Warning: PT Slab" notations stamped in the garage slab, nor did I see any strand end caps in the foundation. I did not receive any as-built drawings, but it is possible that the as-built drawings are on file at the building department (I did not actually travel to the bldg. department to look this up). I feel bad, because this is the last situation I want a client of mine to be in, but there is only so much an engineer can tell from a visual inspection/walk-through.