Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Pulling wire on several rollers with a back tension [Simulation] 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

vain

Mechanical
Oct 8, 2014
MY
Hi engineers,

Could i have your ideas/opinions on how to simulate following case:
Im trying to simulate an initially straight flexible wire, that going through several rollers, in vice versa position (top and bottom) with a back tension on the wire to keep it under tension.
Attached is the picture for the scenario.

Im a beginner in Abaqus simulation and having a bit of knowledge in fea fundamentals.
A step by step methodology will be very helpful.

Thank you in advance.

http://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=d503a570-086b-4747-900c-3adb8479bd3c&file=Killing_roller.png
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The question raises many more questions in my mind: What are the ultimate vs. immediate goals of this modeling exercise? Do you wish to model the whole thing with all rollers or do you care about just one U over one roller? Will 2D analysis work? What sort of experimental data do you have to validate the results of your model against? What sort of 'high quality' input do you have available? Do you have experts around you to help you out? How much time do you have?

Your modeling strategy will depend on the answers to such questions and each strategy will have its own set of challenges. So, as you can see, the answer is: It depends :)

Are you new to this forum? If so, please read these FAQs:

Hi IceBreakerSours,

Thank you for your time looking at this thread [bigsmile]. This is my first post so i could be missing several important things in posting a good question.

To start off, the rollers are called "Killing Roller".