pump head vs pipe pressure in high rise building 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

carlanox

Mechanical
Nov 8, 2022
ID
Hi all,

I am a new engineer, just started to work. I have a debate regarding the pressure in the chiller closed loop system.
So here is the case:
1. Building height is 110m, as in the vertical pipe height
2. We are using 3 pumps in parallel (2 running and 1 backup) with each pump has 40m head, located in the first floor

So what is the pressure reading on the first floor when
a. no pump is running
b. 1 pump is running
c. 2 pumps are running

and here is what i think.
a. since height is 110m so pressure reading in the bottom is 11 bar, assuming 10m is 1 bar
b. with 40m head pump, the pressure will be 11 bar (gravity) + 4 bar (from the pump head) so total is 15 bar
c. depending on the pump curve, it will be 11 bar + 4 bar + 2 bar assuming 50% for the pump series effect so total will be 17 bar

please advice on my answers. thank you

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I assume you have 1st floor is ground floor?

a and b are correct up to a point. You don't say what your minimum pressure is at the high point / where the expansion tank is.

You normally aim for min 1bar at the highest point to keep the circuit working as a closed circuit.

So a will be 11 plus whatever the min pressure is.
b and c will depend on where your tank is. Usually it's on the pump inlet so would also add whatever the min pressure is.

, but don't understand C. You say the pumps are in parallel? so where does 50% extra head come from?

Also why are they on the ground floor - they are commonly found on the roof / top floor so you don't have such high pressures on your pump.

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.

OK, but what pressure does the expanaion tank maintain?

Really?

Is this system working or proposed?

Can you draw a schematic?