Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Pump ON/OFF Control P&ID symbols

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkate

Mechanical
Nov 5, 2011
US
I'm not a controls engineer, and my company doesn't have one on staff, so I need some help. I have a scenario where I have a pump suction tank. The tank has 4 float switches installed. One switch is LSL which turns the pump off on low level. The next switch is LSH which turns the pump on on high level. The third is LSH which turns on an indicator light on a pump panel. The last switch is a LSHH which turns on an indicator light on a pump panel and also sends a signal to an autodialer. We currently show the LSL and LSH that turns the pump on or off with an LSL bubble that has a dashed line going to one side of the motor with the word "OFF" and an LSH bubble that has a dashed line going to other side of the motor with the word "ON". My manager thinks that this is not the correct way to show this. Is he right? If so, what the correct way to show this on a P&ID?

Thanks very much for your help.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Forgot to mention that my manager's point is how can we have a LSH that turns the pump on, and another LSH that illuminates a light indicating a possible problem. He seems to think that we should show a LSH that turns the pump on, a LSHH that illuminates the light and a LSHHH that illuminates the light and dials the autodialer. I told him that I didn't think there was such a thing as an LSHHH bubble on a P&ID.

Hello jkate,

I'm not a controls engineer either, and I have no intimate knowledge of P&IDs...but I still hope to contribute something of value notwithstanding.