Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Pump Seizing

Status
Not open for further replies.

aalexsantoss

Mechanical
Nov 4, 2013
US
Hey all,

I am a mechanical seal engineer and in my current role I have been tasked with learning pump troubleshooting.
I have essentially 2 questions:
1.) What are some main factors contributing to centrifugal pumps seizing up?
2.) Is there a good guide online or book that specializes on centrifugal pump troubleshooting?

Thank you!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The best way to learn about pump problems and the rectification is to get your hands dirty, that means hands on practical experience.

It is a capital mistake to theorise before one has data. Insensibly one begins to twist facts to suit theories, instead of theories to suit facts. (Sherlock Holmes - A Scandal in Bohemia.)

From my experience, the biggest problem for centrifugal pump is the notion of "safe side".
The working point should be as close as possible to the BEP (best efficiency point), but often engineers tends to exaggerate head losses, and take some "safe side" for the head, and the pump is over-design, thus running at the left of their BEP, which means risk of : cavitation, vibrations, overheating, more axial and radial trust, etc...
I think you should knowwell how to design and install a pump, then you can see what is done wrongly. That for you can read the good documents from the pump suppliers like KSB or Grundfoss.

There are many sources to access trouble shooting pumps, probably every manual supplied by any major company will have a brief section - some comprehensive section on trouble shooting - spend some time, do yourself a favour and search it out.