Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Punishing shear questions 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

drasticxxxx

Civil/Environmental
Aug 4, 2015
AE
I studied the punishing shear according to ACI requirement and I have the following questions
1. The spacing between adjacent shear reinforcement in the first line (perimeter) of shear reinforcement shall not exceed 2d measured in a direction parallel to the column face (ACI 11.11.3.3). Can’t understand which distance he is speaking about? And this my lead me to my second question, in the attached picture does this mean I am allowed to put only one line of stirrups per directions, or shall stirrups be covered all the perimeters of the critical section (the graph is really miss leading)
2. When calculating the flexural reinforcement, I did understand that the code consider that steel in column strip as part of this reinforcement and designer has to check or add to this reinforcement if the reinforcement is not enough, however my main question ,this reinforcement I design for flexure for the sake of reinforcement where shall I Put it ,top or bottom??
3. I t seems that safe program is only designing for stirrups and not given longitudinal reinforcement? Is this the case???and what does safe mean by 9x5-10d@50 mm
Does it mean 9 lines of shear reinforcement (links) with 2d distance between line and the other, and every line has 5 legs of 10 mm diameter with spacing 50 mm
(I appreciate if anyone can give hand sketch to illustrate this, so I can get this)

http://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=7cfbeaf2-def4-42d4-b1cc-f8afe643e638&file=ssssss.PNG
Replies continue below

Recommended for you