[Purpose of Lantern rings in environmental packing] 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

gguliye

Industrial
Apr 17, 2019
GB
Dear All,
I am new to valve engineering, and would like to ask the following question.
What is the purpose of lantern ring and packing box ring in the attached sealing picture?
Regards,
Capture_pdcuwk.png

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

SPDL310,
I have done googling before posting the question. I dont really understand how lantern ring help lubrication of packing.
Sorry..

There should be a lubricant/grease injection fitting between the two packing sets. It is not shown in this section view. The hole illustrated near the arrow allows the lubricant to pass from the outer annulus to the inner annulus creating a pocket of lubricant around the stem. When the stem strokes it will bring the lubricant into the packing sets. This is a setup that will work much better with frequent operation and a continuous supply of fresh lubricant. I would guess that this is some sort of control valve in frequent modulating service. Historically speaking I believe this set up originated in reciprocating pumps.

As said correctly by SPDL310, the packing box ring provides a square, flat surface that is perpendicular to the bore for the packing to be pressed against. It has a tight fit against the packing bore and shaft so the packing does not extrude into any gaps at the OD and ID. If the packing pressed directly against the as machined bottom of the packing bore, it can create uneven loading by the angled surface, plus there is a larger gap between the body and stem for the packing to extrude into.