Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Purpose of Winglets

Status
Not open for further replies.

IRstuff

Aerospace
Jun 3, 2002
US
So, I'm stuck in some traffic on the freeway, going slow, or I wouldn't have noticed this. The car in front of me appeared to have little black winglets glued to the bottom of their rear bumper. Is that a "thing?" It's obviously after-market, otherwise, it would be color matched to the rest of the car, or the owner wanted to make sure they would be noticed.

so, do they actually serve some aerodynamic purpose? or was the owner simply a gullible ninny? I've looked on Google, but nothing I've seen looks like those.

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

But that looks like something that a) might be actually useful, assuming the car could go fast enough to warrant a diffuser, and b) it looks professionally made.

Neither appear to be true of my winglets; they were THIN, possibly less than 1/16 inch, and were TINY, about 4" square

TTFN (ta ta for now)

When you say 'winglets' do you mean vertical members?

They absolutely are an important part of a 'real' diffuser, which some cars do have.

Did I forget to post the picture? duh...
Winglets_annotated_vqz2bz.png

TTFN (ta ta for now)

They provide a more laminar flow off of the back of the car. If (and that's a huge if) they track the car, the winglets can make a measurable difference, particularly at 100mph+. If they don't track the car, it's simply for looks.

Impossible to tell from the blurry pic, but if they were black, they were most likely carbon fiber.

Dan - Owner
URL]