Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Pushing clutch help

Status
Not open for further replies.

roadrunner13

Civil/Environmental
Mar 20, 2013
MX
Hello, I am a civil engineer and I have several threads posted in the geotechnical forum, so I am not an automotive engineer or know anything about the subject, but I have a problem and I thought somebody in this forum could suggest something useful to solve it.

I have a 2002 Dodge Stratus with manual transmission. The clutch pedal has become harder to push and I have a mild injury in my left leg, from my knee to my foot. I don't want to force my leg and sometimes it takes a lot of work to push it. In a traffic jam it becomes too tiresome. So:

1.- Selling the car is not an option; it is like new and too useful.
2.- I replaced the clutch about five years ago; it improved a little.
3.- The solutions I've found on the internet (Duck clutch, handicapped adaptations etc.) are more expensive than the value of the car [lol]. Nothing that expensive is an option.
4.- I may try to use a cane so I help to push the pedal with both my arm and leg. Still have to try or design it.
5.- I also replaced the clutch cable a few years ago. AC Delco brand. I was wondering if a special cable, a more elastic one, exist.

So if anyone knows a practical, affordable solution to make the pedal easier to push, I would be greatful to read it.

"There is nothing in the desert, and no man needs nothing."
CEDEX Madrid graduate.
Private construction materials lab

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Improve the leverage. I have no idea of the technical details of that car, but conceptually, whatever is most practical of:
- Move the pedal pivot point down (closer to where the clutch master cylinder attaches).
- Move the master cylinder attachment point up (closer to the pedal pivot pin).