Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

PWM for controlling liquid flow through a Solenoid Valve

Status
Not open for further replies.

kdv1988

Mechanical
Aug 13, 2019
IN
Hello guys, I am looking to control the flowrate of water through a Solenoid Valve in a continuous closed-loop process.

I inquired about Proportional Flow Solenoid Valves and these are a little too expensive and only a handful of manufacturers are supplying those.

But I looked online for some PWM Controllers and found a few, but I don't really know much about this topic as this field is completely new to me (I am a machine designer by profession). I've come here to ask you guys for some guidance :)

So the application is to control the flow-rate using PWM. I was told that you need to purchase Solenoid Valves with PWM-specific coils and a Controller to convert the 0-20mA signal from the PLC into PWM signals.

How do I go about this? And could you'll advise which PWM Controller would work for an application like this?

Thanks,
KV

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

More info :-

I have to introduce a coolant, flow-rates ranging from 500ml to 2000ml into my system where it has to mix downstream with a flow of water coming under gravity. The water shall be introduced into the system under gravity or through the plant's water supply line, due to which the flow-rate might fluctuate.

I need to control the flow of coolant to effectively match that of water in real-time so that my final mixture doesn't get affected with an accuracy of approx +- 0.5%.

Hope this info shall suffice. Feel free to let me know if you need any more details & parameters.

Any DC coil should work with PWM. The inrusb on AC could will cause it to oveeheat. This control scheme is very commonly used for displacement control of hydraulic pumps. I don't know that it provides precise control. It's normally used as a soft start/stop feature.