Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

pWPS Question 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

jwlambert

Mechanical
Nov 7, 2014
US
Hello all,
I am fairly new to procedure writing and am still fumbling my way through the interpretation aspects of things. Currently, I am reviewing a customer who had an inspector kick back one of our procedures that was written to D1.1:2015. One of the markups was the fact that we listed multiple electrode diameters for the pWPS. Based off of pWPS Essential Variables in 3.7, item #7, I interpret that as a change outside of what we decide to list on the procedure requires re qualification. The inspector is saying we need a separate WPS for each diameter. Same thing with base metals. On the pWPS we list that AWS Group I and/or II may be used, and the inspector is saying we need to be specific with Spec and Type and Grade based off of 3.7, item #3. I interpret this the same way as I am interpreting filler metals.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advanced!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The question is: pWPS - preliminary WPS or prequalified WPS?

If you are speaking of a preliminary WPS, you are giving the welder directions for welding up a test assembly used to qualify the WPS. The welded assembly is then tested to demonstrate it meet the minimum mechanical properties required by the applicable code.

If you are speaking of a prequalified WPS, then all the conditions of Clause 3 must be met. The prequalified WPS can cover multiple base metals, multiple weld types, multiple joint types, and/or multiple electrodes and electrode diameters.

Best regards - Al

Hey Al,