Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Quadrilateral finite element stiffness matrix - SAP2000 vs manually generated 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

GhergheV

Civil/Environmental
Feb 24, 2022
RO
Greetings! I am a masters student working on my dissertation thesis and I would like to gather some information about the following topic. The main topic in my thesis will be FEM analysis and my professor suggested to compare the stiffness matrix of an quadrilateral steel plate (20x10x1cm) resulted from SAP2000 in plane analysis and the stiffness matrix generated by hand based on the theory of elasticity.
I was expecting for these two matrices to be quite similar for this simple element but the results are a bit strange, as some of most curious of you will find out if they stick around.

Context:
Finite element: rectangular element with l:h ratio of 2:1, 4 nodes with two DOF in each node (ux, uy)
For the manually derived stiffness matrix I used two approaches for the axis system and the result was exactly the same, as expected and confirmed by the book used as guide.
Shape/interpolation functions used were linear and with the following form: u(x,y) = C0 + C1x + C2y + C3xy
As a comparison I had run two in plane models in SAP2000 one with UX and UY Degrees of freedom and the other one with UX, UY and RZ (from SAP analysis options).

Below you can see the results. The stiffness matrix from SAP200 was generated for a load case of 1mm displacement of node 1. Notations: KCoveianu = KEu = manually generated stiffness matrices starting from two different positions of the axis system. KSAP = stiffness matrix from SAP2000 resulted as nodal reactions in the simple case of 1mm displacement of node 1.