Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Quality Audit for renewal ISO 9001 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nashanas

Petroleum
Apr 23, 2021
NL
Hello everyone,

I have recently joined a company as quality manager. We have to perfrom a renewal of our quality certification ISO 9001. This is my first time to face an audit. I was studying some books by ASQ and following some courses to prepare for the audit. The company also has a consultant to help out in the audit. The consultant has around 40 years of experience of this. He has asked me to prepare the documents like customer request, offer by the company, signed contract, approved designs and purchase orders of materials for 5 or 6 big orders.

But this has got me confused, I was expecting that the auditor will be going in to our quality procedures and processes and approach of implmenting them, risk analysis, matrices, quality objectives etc. How is this list of documents enough to pass a renewal audit? The consultnat is not so much willing to explain to me, he just says trust me this is all we need. Is this a normal procedure?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Much depends on the auditor.

A former company of mine used Q****r here in Ontario and it was a joke. The 'auditor' was a kid in his 20s and who probably never had a previous job in industry, sat down with a single person for a few hours, spoke to no one else, and as far as I know did not look at any document past the QA manual (which, to be honest, you can find on the interweb).

YMMV

"Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, but they are not entitled to their own facts."