Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Question about a micropile

Status
Not open for further replies.

geo321

Civil/Environmental
May 17, 2015
BE
Hello this is my first time I use a micropile. It has a diameter of 250mm. It will contain reinforcement consisting of 4 high deformed bars with some spiral reinforcement. My question is:
1. Is it mandatory to use grout and not concrete? Is it because I cant go with the tremie up to the bottom of the micropile due to its small diameter?
2. When reinforcement is mixed with grout, how can I check the section capacity of the micropile ?

Thank you

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Save samples of grout and have the samples tested for compression strength converted to shear strength )(usually half) at different curing times, such as 5 days 10, 20 30, while curing in damp conditions. Apply a safety factor to that value and add it to the working strngth of the steel bars. Then of course what is the shear strength of the material in which the piles are driven? Don't forget to consider group action.

Oldest guy I wasn't clear in my original post. When I asked about the section capacity I meant the structural capacity and not the Geotechnical capacity.

Assume in question 2 you mean the structural load the pile can take and question about which part carries what? Right? Thus, your grout will carry part and the steel another part. Grout with high water content (very liquid) will be weaker than grout that is not highly liquid (has less water). Also assuming this is a steel pipe, that also takes some load. Finally, you can't dismiss how the load from the external soil gets in the pile. If it is all end bearing, that's one thing, and different from all as side friction.

In answer to your question 1, try to get a concrete mix in there and the answer is an easy NO!

Along with this exercise, laboratory testing of the materials for strength of the parts helps a lot.