Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Question about hydraulic pumps 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheDudeAbidess

Electrical
Jan 15, 2019
US
Im going to preface this with a little background. I am a maintenance electrician with a company in the forging industry. I don't just do electrical work, I often find myself repairing hydraulic and pneumatic circuits as well. I have spent 12 years in the electrical trade. 11 of those years in construction. Only recently have a I decided to give maintenance a try.

With that said, we have a hydraulic circuit that is run by two 10hp motors. Each motor services a Rexroth AA10VSO pump. Both pumps feed into a distribution block and combines pressure into one hose, 2 in 1 out essentially. The pumps feed pressure to two benders in parallel. When one bender runs the other bender stutters. We can all agree what kind of safety issue this is. 1st question: Can we maintain the setup we have and eliminate the back pressure? If so, how? It was suggested that I tee off one of the pumps before the distribution block and goto the smaller of the two benders but I fail to see how this will change anything at all. 2nd question: On the Rexroth pumps there are two ports. I am assuming that one is a case drain, to keep the fluid out of the catch pan, and the other is a pressure relief when the pump isn't in the middle of a cycle. Am I assuming correct?

Any help or guidance that can be forwarded my way would be greatly appreciated. I am new to hydraulics and fluid power but am extremely interested in learning as much as I can.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The flow will take the path of least resistance. Each bender should have it's own dedicated supply. If the purpose of connecting the supplies is to provide more peak flow when needed, that can be done by using hydraulic accumulators.