Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

"An object with that name already exists" 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

benjaminc

Mechanical
Sep 10, 2008
US
I'm fairly new to Pro/E (SolidWorks user) and am having a repeating problem with the error listed in the subject line: "an object with that name already exists". Basically, I'll create a part, add it to the assembly, then decide I want to completely redesign the part, so I delete it from the assembly, delete all associated part files from the directory (*.prt.1, *.prt.2, etc), then try to create a new part in the assembly with the same name. That's when I get the error. I can't figure out what else to delete. Sometimes restarting Pro/E helps, but sometimes it doesn't. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
BC

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

> delete it from the assembly, delete all
> associated part files from the directory

The object still exists in memory / "In Session".
You'll be able to see the object if you look for it;
(menu:) File -> Open -> Look in: In Session.

Once you (menu:) File -> Erase -> Not Displayed ...
the object you should be able to create a new object
with the name.

> Sometimes restarting Pro/E helps,
> but sometimes it doesn't.

Restarting (new Session) should (?) have worked without
exception as long as there's not a same name object in a
search path.

(Pro/E's file management is a bit complex. A good read
thru Help ("What's This?" is handy for a start point) is
compulsory and a bit of experimentation to make sure you
understand will save you some grief. Assumptions will
cause you some.)

-Jeff Howard (wf2)
Sure it's true. I saw it on the internet.

Thanks, Jeff. Agreed on the file management being a bit complex. User interface and the underlying mechanics have already sprung all sorts of little surprises relative to my SolidWorks training -- but I've also appreciated how the program really supports (and virtually enforces) well-defined parametric modeling practices.