Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

"underwater eco habitat" questions re: structure

Status
Not open for further replies.

ebesan

Industrial
Aug 23, 2008
US
I was shown this project the other day.I am not an engineer, but an architect; and reacted by scratching my head and wondering about several design and engineering issues (form and function)
1. a square shape?
Wouldn't the pressures be structurally uneven and extremely inefficient?
2. the 24 hr. tidal flow; tidal hydraulics; wouldn't the shape cause some potentially dangerous pressures? (inertia, drag, pressure differential, vortexes? what is the term for this, hydro-dynamics?)
3. shifting sand; 5 minutes just standing in an ocean and sand has covered my feet; wouldn't there be severe shifting and build-up? (I think of shifting dunes)
4. would it be realistic to sink this to the actual ocean bed? how stable is that, or can an engineering study determine? but regardless, would it make more sense to elevate the habitat on adjustable legs, allowing the water free movement below? (and easier construction/removal)
(see these Projects from the South Pole- 5. and even consider a hydro-kinetic feature; propellers, or some technology to harness the constant tidal movement?

But lastly, without getting into a discussion on aesthetics, I personally would be looking at the Space Station, curved shapes with equalized pressure; marine life; submarines; a shape that would allow the tidal movement to pass; bio-mimetics.
This is a statement from the Project"s Sponsors-
"The base itself will comprise three floors constructed in the shape of a Mayan pyramid in homage to the civilization that once flourished in Belize."

Any ideas, advice, suggestions would be very welcome; this actually fascinates me as a very challenging design/engineering problem.
Thanks. Ebesan

Replies continue below

Recommended for you