Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

QW-423 – Use Of Alternate Base Metal For Welder Qualification Coupon 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

ethan18

Mechanical
Nov 20, 2023
IN
Hello. I am new to the forum, and this I think is my first post.

I am a welding engineer, closely working with Section IX for a number of years now. Quite a few interesting issues arise when using the code, and I would love to hear other code user’s views on the same.

I have a PQR qualified with P-No. 3 + P-No. 3 base metal. It is required to write a WPS for a welder qualification, and the available material in shop is of P-No. 1. Ordinarily, a P-No. 3 + P-No. 3 PQR does not support WPS having P-No. 1 metal. However, QW-423 permits replacing any metal with any other metal indicated in the same row of table shown under QW-423, for the purpose of performance qualification alone.

So, does this mean I can write a WPS with P-No. 1, with the help of existing PQR?

1. Will this not be a violation of PQR rules of QW-424? (Considering that QW-301 specifies that a welder qualification coupon shall be made with a qualified WPS only.)
2. Sec IX is serious about respecting the rules of QW-424. See the interpretation in attachment. The ‘no’ reply indicates that Sec IX considers PQR sacrosanct, and just because it is a test coupon – does not mean any substitution of base metals can be done willy nilly.

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=8224b486-8369-4178-aa30-dbf01932c756&file=Untitled.png
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I don't see the problem. An unassigned base metal is not in the same row of the table in QW-423. If you have a WPS for P3 - P3 then use that and substitute the P3 for P1.

Noted. However, this sets a couple of questions rolling in mind: