Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Raft foundation design

Status
Not open for further replies.

RME1

Structural
Aug 10, 2006
GB
I am looking to design a single story extention (approx 3m x 4.5m) on the back of my house and wanted a bit of guidence from those of you who have done this sort of thing before (preferably in the UK).
My background is mainly in bridge design working for large consultants, so typically will have an array of software and full desktop/site investigation at my disposal. This is at the other end of the scale in that I have a pencil, calculator and the view out of my window to go off.
From what I can gather the house is on the site of an old quarry, and is likely to be piled through made ground. I've spoken to building control, who have advised me that other extensions in the vicinity have been on raft foundations. To further complicate matters I'm looking to bridge over 2 drains (foul and surface) with invert levels at approx 750 and 850mm depth.
I'm thinking a fairly simple bridging structure containing some compressible fill will be adequate for the drains with the raft then sitting on top (with some compacted type 1 and blinding etc. in between).
My main question relates to the design of the raft and what sort of analysis methods would be deemed appropriate. The NHBC standards give guidence for the edge beams, but models for the slab itself could range from the very simple to incedibly complicated.
I know the easy answer is to keep it simple and over design it, but just wondered what was typically done.
Any thoughts/advice welcome

Thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you