Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

rain seeping into soil on construction site

Status
Not open for further replies.

tildeme

Civil/Environmental
Nov 4, 2009
US
I'm still an engineer in training so please excuse me if I sound like I don't know what I'm talking about. This is why I'm posting here asking for further insight and see if there any advice or professional resources that can be suggested to help me.

So I have a project where I'm designing foundation for various electrical substation structures. We have a soil boring report that indicates that plasticity index is 30 so we can safely assume that there are no expansive clayey soils and that the report indicates a silty sand/rock that is fairly strong. Which makes me believe that there should not be any issues with settlement differentiation based on soil reports. However, the guys in the field believes otherwise.

There has been massive amounts of rain in the last few weeks and they're very concerned with the strength of the soil for some of our pad and shallow foundations. (It hasn't been designed yet.) They believe the soil borings may not be accurate and that they the foundation will not hold based on what they see in the field.

I've been told that they have decided to do have a second company do a second boring report later on. But my boss still wants me go ahead to design the foundation. What I want to know as an EIT is how exactly does rain affect the soil mechanics? How do I take into account the rain that is soaked up in the soil after a soil boring report is done? Isn't plasticity of soil more important? If the bearing strength decrease, how do I design the foundation taking this into account?