Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Ramp Generator 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

TugboatEng

Marine/Ocean
Nov 1, 2015
US
I'm looking for a device that I can mount online of a 4-20mA control signal that delays rising values. The closest item I can come up with is a ramp generator but that only ramps up from step. I need it to slow a rising input. This is to limit engine acceleration rates to reduce smoking of a diesel engine.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Seems to me that a ramp generator is as good as using a 555 for delay. You start the ramp and trigger a response when the ramp crosses a desired threshold and you control the delay by the speed of the ramp.

Or am I misinterpreting your post?

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529 Entire Forum list

OP,
Is this only to delay the rate of rising or to delay the response all together? What device is supplying the 4-20 and what device is it controlling? There are signal conditioners that might work, there are even some with built in PID functionality, depending on how conditional your requirements are for control as small plc may be needed.

Edit: For other seeking information from this thread, I would normally not just throw out a PID controller for someone not familiar with the control theory behind them, but the OP has demonstrated a high level of competence in many areas though other posts that he's answered, so I do not think a quick dive into tuning PID loops would be out of their grasp.

Hang a capacitor on it Tug.
You may need a capacitor/resistor combination.
With a resistor you may calculate the time constant.
The RC time constant, denoted τ (lowercase tau), the time constant (in seconds) of a resistor–capacitor circuit (RC circuit), is equal to the product of the circuit resistance (in ohms) and the circuit capacitance (in farads), i.e.:

It is accepted that it takes 5 time constants to stabilize.