Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Rated puller rod / plates

Status
Not open for further replies.

Equipment Stripper

Mechanical
Dec 4, 2019
CA
Hi all...
I'm not an engineer, just a 35yr trade experienced Heavy duty mechanic.
I have a few questions that I'm hoping you can help me out with.
We often experience wear bushings pressed into the machine. The replacement of these bushings require cutting the old bushing and pulling it out, or pulling it out with plates and threaded rod, and then installing the replacement bushing by pulling it into place with a hollow core ram and rods and plates.
I have worked as a "dealer" mechanic and in almost every scenario I have come across, we go get a piece of "grade 8" redirod, (also known as all thread and numerous other trade names). Then we take a piece of plate with a hole in the center and put it on the bushing and use some double nuts and put it through the hollow core cylinder and then pull out or in as required.
Recently I came across a listing from "Caterpillar" in their tooling catalogue. They list them as "puller rod" and actually publish a specification rating for the size of the rod, ie 30 ton, 50 ton, 150 ton, etc. The rating of the rods changes with the length and the diameter of the rods. They also had a section of "threaded rod" "not to be used with hydraulic cylinders"
In my experience with the redirod, we quite often break it, or pull the threads out of the nuts, or off the rods, through the plates, etc. Having a steel rod break with 60 tons on it and go flying through the air can be unnerving.
No other tool manufacturer, or equipment manufacturer that I can find, list a source or part number for "rated" puller rod. Just the Caterpillar ones.