Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Rational method

Status
Not open for further replies.

lKobRal

Civil/Environmental
Apr 16, 2019
RU
Please explain what the parameter "Percent Impervious Area" means and how to use it when calculating the runoff coefficient?
Why do the values of runoff coefficients for different soil groups (A,B,C,D) differ depending on the land use?
Please give an example of calculating the runoff coefficient for areas with mixed land use, in particular when commercial and industrial areas are used.
_jD--MVcASs_xku8fo.jpg

tMNjznLBkQE_kpxcln.jpg

In all the documents that I studied, the depth of the pipe depends only on the depth of freezing of the soil or equal to it. Is there really no other circumstances that affect the depth of the pipe and how is it calculated? I correctly understand that the depth of the pipe is always taken equal to the depth of freezing of the soil?
In many documents that I studied, the minimum velocity in a sewer pipe is 2 feet per second, do I understand correctly that a minimum speed of 2 feet per second is suitable for all diameters, and not just minimum ones?
This table shows the minimum slopes for pipes of different diameters, please explain how these minimum slopes are regulated, as I understand it, the minimum slopes give a minimum speed of 2 feet for pipes with appropriate diameter. Or are these minimum diameters dictated by the design features of the pipe?
Slope_tn0fh2.png

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

1. "Percent Impervious Area" is pretty self explanatory. It is the percentage of the area with impervious coverage. It can be useful for determining the correct Land Use (for example, some Industrial or Commercial may be far less coverage than 90-95%).