Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Real world v SolidWorks 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliedurrant

Materials
Dec 16, 2005
GB
Bare with me everyone, I know I'm as king a lot of questions....(and thanks to all that have taken the time to answer so far)

Background - I am new to modelling / CAD / drawing etc. I am transferring some old autocad files into a 3d model. The files represent a replica of an old swing frame - nothing smart, just some tubes, hinges and an apex joint.

The whole lot is at and the the e-Drawings file is at

I have two problems:

1) I have a folding brace (like the ones you get on baby push chairs) which connects to tubes which are fixed at one end to a joint. The brace locks the two tubes (legs) and when locked out fixes the distance of the two legs.

The problem is in 'the real world' the brace has an element of flex around the set screws where it is fixed and both faces of the stay that connect to the legs sit flush against the legs. Solidworks wont let me create a coincident mate as this would mean the other components would have to twist. It makes sense ofcourse but in the real world I am not forced to have a 5mm gap..... What should I do to emulate real life.

2) Before the legs were linked together by the brace they had movement in two ways

a - rotation about the set screw where they are fixed to the apex joint hinge.
b - where they are attached to the apex joint, the hinge they are attached to had perperdicular rotation about another set screw.

Once the two legs were linked by the stay I lost movement 'a' even if both legs were selected together.

Thats the end of my questions ! I can't find anything in the help files or on web searches etc.

Charles

Replies continue below

Recommended for you