Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Receipt of Payment 6

Status
Not open for further replies.

Standard American

Structural
Feb 14, 2022
US
I'm new to owning my own firm. I have been getting checks from clients over the last few months for completed work and I have not been providing a receipt. Nobody has asked for one yet but I feel like it is not good business not to send one and I need to start. Do you send receipts of payment when you receive a check? If so, is it just a simple paid stamp with date and check number on the original invoice or a whole new document? The stamp seems like the quick and easy way to go but doesn't seem as professional as a formal receipt. Thanks in advance for any input.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

My invoicing system has a little toggle to send a payment receipt notice whenever I log in a payment. That's the most I've ever done unless somebody has requested a written receipt (occasionally required for inspections at real estate transactions).

Nope. I just send the invoice and then receive the payment. Sometimes I will put in an email "Thanks, payment received" but quite often for the one-and-done projects it's no receipt. Some customers have requested one. And I'm not sure if the Quickbooks system allows the other person to see if their invoice is cleared. But no complaints on my end.

I've not done it but pretty sure my online accounting package will do that.

My accountant use the same software and I get an automated response.

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.