Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Recommendation for Job Site Cameras 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

FrankHW

Civil/Environmental
Apr 21, 2017
US
Hey guys, my office is considering purchasing a job site camera for time-lapse project recording. I have very little knowledge about these cameras and after some research online I see there is wide pricing range from a bit above a hundred dollars to several grand. Can someone give me an introductory lesson about construction cameras as to the most important attributes and functions to consider before purchasing? Is live monitoring capability important? What power source (battery, power cable, solar, etc) works better? My projects are mostly water/wastewater treatment plant jobs. Any insight or suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Can't help you => I'm looking for a very short range short focus digital camera for recording weld defects, scars, machining problems (1-3 inch focus length) for the office to analyze Good luck looking for video!

I had an earlier posting that I removed because to do time lapse photos, I had forgotten that I had patched the Canon Powershot OS. Worked extremely well. Also used Canon Powershot cameras for taking macros and with a little trial and error they worked well focusing down to 1" or less. I had posted a photo on an earlier thread that showed the detail.

The thread was thread507-313155, but the photo has been removed.

Dik

Agree with dik on the Canon PowerShot. I have a PowerShot G12 that I use for portability in the field. Takes good macro shots.

If I need higher resolution, either field or lab, I use a Canon 100mm macro lens with a ring light, on either an EOS 1Dx or an EOS 5D, both full frame cameras.