Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Recommended FEA package for excavator buckets

Status
Not open for further replies.

mechanicalhead

Mechanical
Feb 17, 2012
GB
Hi

I am a recent machanical engineering graduate and currently working for an excavators bucket manufacturing company. We have had no experience of utilising any FEA packages so far, however we have been looking into getting a FEA software to validate our designs and optimise our products.

I have been asked to carry out a research on the available FEA packages in the market and propose a suitable one which can justify the investment as well as being suitable to our products.

We are currently using Solidworks 2012 CAD package and have been given a demonstration on Solidworks Simulation but I have been doing some online research and came across various other packages so now I've hit the brick wall as I have no in-depth eperience on using FEA softwares(apart from a brief usage of Solidworks Simulation for my university project which was on a very small scale backhoe bucket).

I would be grateful if anyone working in the same field could please recommend a suitable FEA package particularly for digging machine attachments.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Any number of packages would probably suit your needs. You should probably start by hiring or contracting with an experienced analyst who can evaluate your needs in detail.

As you evaluate software, keep in mind that the software is only a tool, much like a wrench for a mechanic or a hammer for a carpenter. Just like those tools and knowing the fundamentals of their use don't a mechanic or carpenter make FEA software and being able to operate it doesn't make one an analyst.