References for Designing a Product for Fully Automated Assembly

Status
Not open for further replies.

thested

Mechanical
May 12, 2016
US
Hi Folks,

I am preparing to start a project where we will take an existing design and cost reduce it in addition to design for robotic/automated assembly.

The product is basically a simple light switch for the home. It will have a few plastic parts and many stamped metal parts, including rivets for the stamped metal parts. No electronics.

I work as a mechanical engineer for this company and want to educate myself on types of robots/equipment and how to design the parts to accommodate the automated assembly.

I realize this is somewhat vague, but any links to books on the topic or websites that you frequent for components that are used to build the system would be helpful.

For example, some questions I have are:

Are there standard robotic grabbers and suction cups that everyone uses?
Are there standard sorting/orienting machines for stamped metal parts, or are they all custom?
Is there a good book that describes best practices for interfacing with your parts? Like when to use a suction cup or some sort of robotic gripper.
Are there any clear guidelines on when it makes sense to add cost to aid assembly, or is this all case by case?

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There are a lot of YouTube videos from prospective suppliers and a bunch of How it's Made videos that show factory production lines.

As with anything the interfaces between product and tooling is going to be custom. If there is a specific limited robot you have in mind then you can design for that robot, but generally that doesn't happen.