Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Refurb of 4kv motor with good global vpi winding - opinions on need for dip and bake? 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

electricpete

Electrical
May 4, 2001
US
My personal approach (spec) for refurbishment of VPI windings is clean/bake/test but no dip and bake unless there’s some good reason.

The reason for my approach: about 20 years ago a shop did a dip and bake on one of our motors and the winding temperature went up. Later I saw the cooling channel dimensions were reduced. There may have been a thermal insulation layer as well. Perhaps they did a particularly bad job of dip and bake, but my thought is why take the chance if it doesn’t add any value. On a good global vpi winding, I don’t see any value added from to dip and bake unless there is a particular reason.

So…. I’m using a new repair shop that I’ve never worked with before. We sent them our motor and my expectations on dip and bake were not clear initially. They disassembled and did as-found inspection/testing and submitted an updated proposal for refurbishment with some additional cost for a variety of added items. Their proposal included dip and bake (it was in their initial proposal too, but this is the first time that it caught my attention). I called up the author of the proposal to discuss this and a few other things in the quote. Here's how that went.
[ul]
[li]Me: I prefer not to dip and bake this motor. Why are you recommending it?[/li]
[li]Him: To replenish the insulation.[/li]
[li]Me: It's just a refurbishment, what do we need to replenish? [/li]
[li]Him: It makes the insulation more reliable[/li]
[li]Me: This is a global vpi insulation, what does dip and bake accomplish?[/li]
[li]Him: It’s an industry standard, we’ve done it that way for 32 years on every motor we do[/li]