Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Regenerative braking system

Status
Not open for further replies.

ajayd

Automotive
May 13, 2006
US
I am very new to regenrative braking systems and wanted to do some research on.
from Internet waht I could able to grasp was regenerative braking involves the electrical motor which is turned to generator when brakes are applied and so the energy is reclaimed, but how the mechanical system works ? how much time it is needed for motor to sense the brakes are applied and motor to turn into generator ? are the brakes used are normal brakes and used for all the wheels ?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

though the .pdf file is self explanatory and explain a lot about hydrolysic system
is there any resource on internet or any book I can refere to grasp the basic mechanical aspects of regenerative braking system?

I did some chassis design work on a fully electric commercial bus. In this case, the two electric motors that are driving the transmission act as generators as soon as you let off of the accelerator pedal. All of this was controlled with simple electronics that sensed that you let off of the accelerator pedal. The generator effect also worked in place a transmission retarder or exhaust brake as typically used in the diesel bus applications. Hope this helps a little at least on fully electric vehicles.

Regenerative braking is a method to capture and store the kinetic energy of a moving item, and then be used to reaccelerate it. Regenerative braking is not industry specific, but can be difficult to implement cost effectively. In most application a heavy load must be stopped and started frequently. The action of starting and stopping is controlled to limit power required.

In industrial applications, the acceleration time and the deceleration time is usually easy to determine and microprocessor controlled.