Remedying understeer

Status
Not open for further replies.

romaier

Mechanical
Oct 5, 2006
US
Hi all,

I've spent much time perusing this forum but never really posted. Now, however, I have a question regarding an understeering problem.

I'm designing the front suspension of an off-road Baja SAE vehicle (in conjunction with the rear end team) for a design project at Uni. The lastest generations have had a nasty understeer problem, particularly at turn in. Some of the guys believe that by adding more roll in the front relative to the rear by means of a lower roll center will help this.

I, however, am not sold on this. I am a novice though, but I have been reading up on books such as "Race Car Vehicle Dynamics" by Miliken & Miliken in order to get a better feel for this. Am I misunderstanding something here? The old car has a wheel base of 64" with the new model shortened to 61". Also, the track is 58" being narrowed to 56". What would you all recommend as a remedy for this understeer problem?

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Well, what does a bicycle model tell you to do?

You might want to increase the front roll stiffness to increase the 'bite' of the outside wheel.

You might want to soften the front roll stiffness to increase the cornering stiffness of the outside wheel.

You might want to reduce the ackerman to get the outer wheel working harder

You might want to increase the ackerman to get more turn in drag from the inner wheel.

Interesting isn't it?

Cheers

Greg Locock

Please see FAQ731-376 for tips on how to make the best use of Eng-Tips.

I think Greg is saying...the solution(s) to your problem is dependent on the specific design of your vehicle and operating conditions.

I will say that reducing the front RC will reduce steady-state Understeer, but may make your turn-in problem worse...