Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

RENE N5 microstructure (etched with Kallings 2) why are some regions darkened?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim_W

Oct 2, 2020
NL
Dear engineers,
This is my first post and i am new to this very interesting forum.
Please excuse me if i did skip the introduction part, i'll try to introduce myself in the appropriate section if this is necessary!

Well, this is my metallurgical finding/question:
As i work in the aviation industry (but quite new to the materials they use) i had to cut out a High Pressure Turbine (HPT) blade for analysis. I did it to learn more about the material (RENE N5) and get more in depth knowledge.
The specimen was cut with water cooling, polished and finally swap etched with Kallings 2 reagent for 5 seconds:
Rene_n5_hpt_blade_cross_section_after_etching_iad2b5.png

close up:
Rene_n5_hpt_blade_cross_section_after_etching_microscopic_view_pubkqm.png

my question is as following: why are some regions darkened by the etchant? They quickly appeared during etching. My own hypothesis is a phase change, caused by local overheating of this particular area (like grinding burns when you etch with Nital).

In order to answer my question and develop above mentionned hypothesis i tried to look into the available literature but i couldn't find anything that clearly answers my question.
But... There are gamma and gamma prime phases.. So i examined the microstructure at high magnification and i found out that the darkened regions do show a coalescence and coarsening of the gamma prime matrix (please correct me if i am wrong). I also examined the microstructure of a section which was cetainly NOT overheated (dovetail) and i observed a cubical matrix of gamma prime (please correct me if i am wrong).