Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Require high speed alternator/motor design critique.

Status
Not open for further replies.

KatyDave

Electrical
May 1, 2005
US
I am building a turbo prop and I would like to incorporate a permanent magnet machine that could act as a starter and an alternator. I am an electrical engineer, but more on the control side. The best idea I could come up with, remembering that this is a “home built” project, is at this link:

Using magnets diametrically magnetized allows the equivalent of a two pole motor (only three windings), reduces the electrical frequency, and should increase torque. Am I wrong?

At 20K RPM the windings are rather short (<5”) to generate 15V, so there will be many parallel windings in each phase. Maximum operating speed will be less than 90K RPM. I plan on using a microcontroller to control a HexFET bridge, so I can limit current in the starter mode and then optimize and control voltage in the alternator mode.

I would appreciate any feedback.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There are quite a few high-speed designs available. The main issues are usually heat build-up in the rotor, balancing and bearing problems.

Heat in the rotor may come as a surprise since a PM rotor is supposed to run without any slip and hence no losses. But that would only be true if your flux were perfectly sinusoidal (which it can be, but needs a lot of effort) and your driving EMF is perfectly sinusoidal, too. You can have that if you use a PWM inverter and filters or if you use an inverter with pure sine-wave output. There are some available, at a price.

The need to keep heat down is because epoxy doesn't work well above, say, 140 centigrades.

Balancing is obvious.