Required certification level on aircraft reconfiguration. 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

heinessen

Aerospace
Nov 15, 2015
KR
Hello.

I am a cabin engineer working at airline.
I am writing this post to make sure what certification is required for aircraft reconfiguration.
Our company usually get a STC for cabin reconfiguration in previous modification programs.
But I heard that some airlines or aircraft leasing companies get only FAA 8110-3 for cabin reconfiguration.
I am wondering why this difference is made.
To the best of my knowledge, STC is required if there are major changes on aircraft during reconfiguration but FAA 8110-3 is only required if there is only minor changes.
I would like to know if my understanding is correct.
In addion, I would like to know what the major diffrence between STC and 8110-3.
I think STC have some more steps than 8110-3 but please let me know if anyone could make comparision between STC and 8110-3.

Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Greetings,

Cabin outfitting and subsequent modifications are not required to be STC’d (or part of the TC). They may be done by engineering approval - DER 8110-3 or ACO approval.

The history is that a decade or so ago, FAA Aircraft Certification and Flight Standards got together to decide what should be STC’d, what could be done by engineering approval, and what could be Field Approved. For a while, the document did say “all cabins must be STC’d” but the FAA later came back and decided that was not their intent, and revised the document to how it reads today. It is called the “Major Repair and Alteration Data Approval Online Job Aid” and can be found at:

fsims.faa.gov/wdocs/other/Major_Repair_Alteration_Job-Aid.pdf

Look for items I.1 and I.2 under Transport Category airplanes.

Lessors may have STC’s as a requirement of a lease agreement, that is contractual.

An 8110-3 is not appropriate for Minor Alterations, see Order 8110.37E section 4-12.b.