Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Resections and their accuracy

Status
Not open for further replies.

kampho

Civil/Environmental
Apr 10, 2003
AU
Howdy all

I am an municipal engineer that does a lot of site and set-out surveying with a Set 5 Sokkia instrument and SDR 33 data recorder. It is often impossible for me to set up over a known point during construction and I am wondering what the accuracies of doing a resection are. I generally only do a 2 point resection but am beginning to think that I should be using at least 3 points. The way our boys off-set the points I give them probably doesn't warrant me being overly accurate but it would be nice to know if i am doing the right thing!

Cheers

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I think I understand your question. The solution is relatively simple in that you must establish a reference elevation, or Bench Mark which is relatively stable and will be unaffected by influences such as compaction disturbances or obstruction of lines of sight.

The best benchmarks can be the top of existing manhole covers, hydrants or survey monuments (in an urban area) and trees, power poles (spiked) or other immobile objects in open fields.

With these benchmarks, the original topo must be referenced and shot and then the resections or cross sections of construction can then be shot, plotted and compared. Any benchmark placed MUST be protected from disturbance. I hope I understood your query correctly.

KRS Services