Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Residential Slab

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrtm76

Computer
Nov 15, 2004
US
I am a residential designer and have a renovation proyect of an existing home with a single story 20'X20' addition. The foundation will be a monolithic slab with turned down perimeter footings. What are the reinforcement requirements/guidelines for this type of slab? This is in North Atlanta where the frost depth is 12".
The county has no specific requirements or guidelines but does require an inspection. The concrete contractor won't pour until we have drawings showing rebar and steel reinf. Homeowner cannot afford engineered drawings(it is such a small proyect). I have searched my residential code books and have not found anything that would point me to the right direction.

All help will be appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It's in the foundation section. One #4 top and bottom in the footing. They only require gravel for basement slabs but slab on grade or basement require the poly.

we need more information, what is the soil condition?
Red Georgia clay?
Is there a brick veneer?
One story or two?
Grade beams?

Typically with non-expansive soils use 2-3 #4 grade 40 at bottom with 2 inch cover, 3000 psi mix, 6-mil polly, 10x10 wire or fiber additive. I would dowel the slabs by drilling and epoxy a 12 inch #4 (six inches) in the existing slab @ 4' OC to prevent movement between slabs.

If the turn down edge of the slab is cast using earth as the form the cover requirement is 3”. If wood or metal is used as the form and then the area is backfilled, the cover requirement is less.

ACI-318
7.7 — Concrete protection for reinforcement
7.7.1 — Cast-in-place concrete (nonprestressed)