Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Resonant and Harmonic freq calculation in motorcycle frames

Status
Not open for further replies.

saintz

Military
Jul 3, 2000
US
I posted this at autobody then realized this would be a better forum.<br>Hi All<br>Not sure if this is the exact forum for this question, but I'll toss it out anyway. If someone can help, I will be forevermore grateful. What I would like to know is if there is a way to measure or calculate the resonant frequency of a specific motorcycle frame and swingarm combo. I.E. at what engine speeds (frequency) will harmonic vibrations be introduced into the frame and thus felt by the rider? I am not an engineer, but it seems obvious that the rear fork assembly will act as a tuning fork at some engine speeds, and quite possibly some of the harmonics will be in a range noticeable to the operator. I ask this question because I have a new Harley Superglide sport, and everyone that I have contacted with the same model has complained about a pronounced vibration that came on at 2400 RPM and was gone by 3000 RPM. Thanks in advance.<br><A HREF="mailto:saintz@series2000.com">saintz@series2000.com</A>

Replies continue below

Recommended for you