Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Resources and calculations for Implement design

Status
Not open for further replies.

sjk88

Agricultural
Jul 29, 2015
ZW
I graduated as a mechanical engineer and am now working as the sole engineer for an agricultural implement manufacturer. Unfortunately this company hasn't had an engineer for some time so alot of the old design and development reports have gone missing. We have recently taken on a project to design a small disc harrow and I am finding it difficult to find any resources on implement design. I have made learnt the basic principles in calculating the specific draft for a tillage tool but I feel that this method is pretty useless when it comes to actually designing an actual implement. Are there any good resources (books, journals websites etc) or a standard set of calculations that can be used in finding necessary design forces such as a practical calculation for draft power and resistive forces on a disc harrow or agricultural machinery in general? Any advice would be a great help.

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Sjk88: