Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Resources for New Structural Engineer of Record

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mch2018

Structural
Mar 23, 2018
US
I have been working in structural engineering for several years, have my P.E. and a M.S. in Civil Engineering. I have worked for a few companies, always as part of a team and under a senior engineer. I have been managing my own projects and doing all of the calcs and coordination. I have also always had a senior engineer to go to for questions and to review my work. I applied for a job with an A/E firm for a structural engineer. When i interviewed I found out i would be the only structural engineer at the firm and i would have a drafter working under me. i am a confident engineer and am up to the challenge of taking on the extra responsibility and work that is evolved with being the engineer of record. I am a bit nervous and feel somewhat overwhelmed knowing that i will be completely on my own, with no one to turn to for help. I will now be solely responsible for calcs, drawings, specs, notes, etc.... I am used to working with engineers with decades of experience and seemingly endless wealth of knowledge.

I am wondering if there are any engineers that know of good resources for someone in my position.

Thank you!!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You are engaging on a good resource right here on eng-tips. You are never truly alone. Be humble enough to seek out advice and ask questions when needed. Use this board, join a local structural engineering chapter and make contacts there, etc. IMO no one is ever "ready" to be start being an EOR; you just tackle one job at a time and seek help when needed. Never been on my own but this is how my boss explained it to me how he developed.